Mt. Etna, the variety of eruptions

 24th. - 27th. November 2006, by Richard Roscoe

   

in deustch


Cinema 

 


This report covers observations of eruptive activity at Etna on 24-26 Nov. 2006.  The period was selected according to the weather forecast, which proved accurate.  As a result visibility was generally good, although dense fog made the descent on the 26th rather difficult.

  

Eruptive activity from the SE crater commenced in the early morning of the 24th with consistent eruption of dark ash clouds.  As we approached the cable-car, we watched the thick ash clouds and were looking forward to approaching the crater, however on arrival at the top, we were told to immediately descend again due to the high level of activity.  After some discussion it was possible to observe the activity for an hour from the station.

  

In the afternoon, ash emission stopped and it was possible to observe extensive lava flow activity from 1120m on the Zafferana-Etna road and later from Monte Zoccolaro.  Emission of lava from the large fissure in the SE crater could be seen.

 

   

 

On the 25th, access to the top of the flow field descending into the Valle del Bove was possible and constant lava emission from the base of a large hornito could be observed.  No other flows were visible.  The flow was embedded in recently erupted lava deposits.  Hence in the areas with a good view of the lava flow, ground temperature was high.  This caused problems with several peoples shoe-soles and melted the feet off my tripod. In the early evening, I crossed the lava tunnel feeding the hornito and proceeded to the NW side thereof where the lava flow could be accessed better due to the wind conditions. 

 

 Emission of some spatter could be observed.  However, summit activity of the SE crater commenced again, starting with dark ash clouds and increasing to the level witnessed on the previous day. Consequently, I considered it prudent to return to the SE side of the flow to avoid getting cut off if flow activity increased to levels witnessed the previous day.  Unfortunately, the police were rounding up everyone at this time and I had to descend shortly afterwards.  The SE crater Paroxism was not photographed as most of the glow was obscured by the thick ash and it was already pitch-black.

   

 

On the 26th, we arrived at the top of the cable car at about 10.30 and could observe intense ash emission from a crater on the E flank slightly below the summit of SE crater.  Fortunately, access was still possible to the flow field and the hornito, which both showed no significant changes compared to the previous day.  The E flank crater was active for most of the day.  The hornito violently ejected incandescent material to a height of maybe 80m during the late afternoon but unfortunately stopped shortly before dark.  The E flank crater was still active when we left after onset of darkness.  Although some incandescent material could be seen, it was largely obscured by the ash emitted.

   

On the morning of the 27th loud explosions could be heard at the Rifugio Sapienza area although cloud cover obscured visibility.  Fortunately, due to a change in the wind direction, the airport reopened (it had been shut from 24-26th) and it was possible to return home as planned.  


Further reports

          

                  1.-11. November 2006                       11.- 16. September 2006                 


Actual Etna update by Charles Rivière , Hotel Corsaro Etna

VOLCANODISCOVERY   and  Stromboli online  swisseduc.ch

Actual images by

 Etna    Stromboli    Volcano world    Counter Cinema

From Etna to Stromboli     Planets & Space

 ©  2006 photos and text by R.. Roscoe, Video Boecke, last modification 30.11.2006

Der Ätna, die Vielfalt der Eruption

 24. - 27. November 2006,  von Richard Roscoe

   

in english


Cinema 

 


Dieser Bericht bezieht sich auf Observationen der Eruptionen am 24-26 Nov. 2006.  Diese Periode wurde wegen der guten Wettervorhersagen ausgesucht.  Sichtverhältnisse waren wie erwartet gut, allerdings wurde unser Abstieg am 26. durch dichten Nebel erschwert.

 

Am frühen Morgen des 24. begann ein Paroxismus des SE Kraters.  Von der Rifugio Sapienza aus beobachteten wir die dicken Aschewolken und freuten uns darauf den Ausbruch aus der Nähe zu sehen.  Als wir oben ankamen wurden wir aber angewiesen sofort wieder herunterzufahren.  Zum Glück konnten wir nach einigen Diskussionen eine Stunde bei der Seilbahnstation verweilen um wenigstens etwas von dem Ausbruch sehen zu können. 

 

Am späten Nachmittag, als die Ascheauswürfe aufgehört hatten konnte man von 1120m Höhe auf der Zafferana-Etna Strasse, und später von Monte Zocollaro mehrere Lavaströme erkennen, die z.T. aus dem Riss in der Flanke des SE Krater stammen.

   

 

Am 25. war es möglich zum Lavafeld oberhalb des Valle del Bove zu gelangen.  Lava strömte dort aus einem Hornito heraus und floss dann die Bergflanke herab. Keine anderen Lavaströme waren sichtbar.  Der Strom war zwischen ein paar Tage alte Ströme eingebettet, die betreten werden mussten um den Strom aus der Nähe beobachten zu können.  Die Bodentemperatur in diesem Bereich war daher relativ hoch.  

 

Dies verursachte Probleme mit Schuhsohlen und schmolz auch die Füße meines Stativs ab.  Am frühen Abend überquerte ich den Lavatunnel über dem Hornito und ging zu dessen NW Seite wo der Lavastrom besser beobachtet werden konnte und auch in der Dämmerung einige Auswürfe von dem Hornito beobachtet werden konnten.  Zu diesem Zeitpunkt fing der SE Krater wieder an Asche auszuwerfen, und um nicht von der Strasse abgeschnitten zu werden wenn größere Lavaströme resultieren sollten, querte ich wieder auf die SE Seite des Stroms zurück.  Leider lief ich dadurch einem Polizisten über den Weg und wurde wie alle anderen Zuschauer nach unten geschickt. 

 

Am 26. kamen wir um 10:30 morgens an der oberen Seilbahnstation an und konnten den Auswurf von Asche aus einem Krater auf der Ostflanke des SE Kraters beobachten.  Glücklicherweise war ein Besuch des Lavafeldes noch möglich und sowohl das Lavafeld wie auch der Hornito schienen wenig verändert.  Der Ostflanke Krater war die meiste Zeit Aktiv.  Am späten Nachmittag schleuderte der Hornito Glutmaterial bis zu einer Höhe von schätzungsweise 80m, hörte aber leider während der Dämmerung wieder auf.  Der Ostflanke Krater war immer noch Aktiv als wir nach Nachteinbruch gingen.  Obwohl etwas Glut zu erkennen war, wurde das meiste von Asche verdeckt.

 

Am morgen des 27. konnten laute Explosionen von der Rifugio Sapienza Gegend gehört werden, aber Wolken verhinderten die Observation der Aschewolke.  Durch eine Veränderung der Windrichtung war der Flughafen von Catania wiedereröffnet worden (er war vom 24-26. wegen der Vulkanasche geschlossen worden) und es war möglich wie geplant nach Hause zu fliegen.


Weitere Berichte

          

                  1.-11. November 2006                       11.- 16. September 2006                 


Aktuelle Ätna Updates und Photos von Charles Rivière , Hotel Corsaro Etna

VOLCANODISCOVERY   und  Stromboli online swisseduc.ch

Aktuelle Webcam photos von

Ätna    Stromboli      Vulkanwelt     Counter Cinema

Vom Ätna zum Stromboli      Planets & Space

 ©  2006 photos and text by R.. Roscoe, Video Boeckel, last modification 30.11.2006