Isole Vulcano, February 1995

deutsch

 

 

The range of the 210 panorama view is belonging from the NW rim of the Gran Cratere with his big fumarole fissure to the brownish old caldera. In the center: Vulcanello and the isle of Lipari. 

 

In 1995 we made the first experience with the big fissure situatet above the sulphurous northern wall of the Gran Cratere (right).On the left photo you can see Andreas passing the cracked rim with breathing problems.

Impressions of sulphur

Descending to the bottom of the crater you will be surprised how many  rocks and caves excisting of sulphure the yellow signed nortern wall includes. If you have a closer view you will discover sulphur needles reaching the size up to three cm.

Some fumaroles are forming pipes or 'tread out necks' which are growing in a period of one year until they get closed again by their own. If you try to cross the sulphur canyon you enter a very hot bottom. Here the deposited sulphure gets melted up again and in several caves you can find him again in stalactites up to 20 cm. ( wear gas-masks because the agressive acid-steam will harm your lounges !!! )

Leaving the thermes behind by walking on the beach in direction of Vulcanello the activity of the fumaroles are more intensive. At the end of the inland beach-see you have the feeling standing on a big cooking-pot.   Hot rising gases and steam in thousands of little fumaroles can make your barefood romantic fullmoon walking at the beach to an unforgettable painfull event.

       

Take the heat of the earth!!

.

By measuring 90 Celsius water temperature this luxurious meal was prepared in nearly 15 minutes!

 

         

And here the vulcanic egg-boiler! Digging a 30 cm deep hole in the sand you will reach the boiling water layer. Throw the eggs inside and in 20 minutes they will be ready! On the right image the eggs were corroded by the light sulphurous acid-water .The light acid coloured the shell black. The quality of taste didn't changed.  

      

Cooking laundry... nearly no problem! The right image is shows the corroded clothes by the light sulphurous acid-water colouring them grey-black. The quality of wear did changed...  

 

  

...yes, and taking a warm muddy-bath for your health regeneration is also possible.

A real practical thing such a vulcano!!

 Etna    Stromboli    Volcano world    Counter Cinema

From Etna to Stromboli     Planets & Space

2001, Photos and Text by Thorsten Boeckel

Isole Vulcano, Februar 1995

english

 

 

Der 210°  Rundumblick zeigt von links den Kraterrand mit dem großen Fumarolenriss. In der Mitte die gesamte liparische Inselkette und rechts die alte Caldera (rotbraun)

    

Bereits 1995 machten wir auf dem Gran Cratere die Bekanntschaft mit dem  "großen Fumarolenriss" oberhalb der "schwefligen" Nordwand (rechts). Links, Andreas Heidl (1995) nach dem Durchschreiten des Risses mit Atemproblemen.

Schwefelimpressionen

Bereits beim Abstieg in den Vulkankrater werden sie feststellen das wirklich der ganze nördliche Bereich intensiv schwefelgelb gezeichnet ist. Bei näherem Hinsehen kann man die nadeligen Schwefelkristalle in den Fumarolen erkennen, die eine Grösse bis zu drei Zentimetern erreichen.

 

Einige Fumarolen bilden auch sog. Austrittshälse oder Röhren aus, die später zuwachsen können und die Fumarolen wieder schließen. Wenn man versucht in den Schewefelcanyon zu gelangen, (viel Spaß beim ersticken,...Gasmaske!) begibt man sich auf sehr heißen Boden. Hier wird der abgelagerte Schwefel wieder aufgeschmolzen, der in den zahlreichen Höhlen sogar Tropfsteine bis zu 20 cm bildet.

Wenn man vorbei an den Thermen in Richtung Vulcanello am Strand entlang geht, stellt man bald fest das hier sogar das Meer kocht. Am Ende des Strandsees ist die Fumarolentätigkeit am größten, und man hat das Gefühl auf einem großen Kochtopf zu stehen. Aufsteigendes heißes Gas in Tausenden von Kleinstfumarolen können einem das Barfußgehen am Strand durchaus zur Hölle machen.

       

Man nutze die Erdwärme!.

.

Bei ca. 90°C ist war dieses Luxusmahl in 15 min fertig.

 

         

Und hier ist er, der vulkanische Eierkocher ! Gräbt man eine 30cm tiefe Kuhle in den Strand stößt man schnell auf brauchbares Kochwasser. Rein mit den Eiern und nach 20 Minuten..... fertig. Auf dem rechten Bild sieht man schön wie das schwefelsaure Wasser die Eierschalen angegriffen und grauschwarz eingefärbt hat. Der Geschmack bleibt unbeeinträchtigt.

      

Kochwäsche.,...kein Problem. Auf dem rechten Bild sieht man schön wie das schwefelsaure Wasser auch die Wäsche angegriffen und grauschwarz eingefärbt hat. Die Qualität wird beeinträchtigt. Sch....

  

und warm baden kann man in den Thermen auch noch. 

Eigentlich ganz praktisch so ein Vulkan!

Ätna     Stromboli      Vulkanwelt     Counter Cinema

Vom Ätna zum Stromboli      Planets & Space

©2001, Photos and Text by Thorsten Boeckel