Soufriere Hills

Montserrat Tour, Jan 2006 

(with comparative pictures from previous visit in Sept. 2002), by Richard Roscoe

in deustch


 (Fig.1)

Fig.1 - Author by remains of Catholic Church, Plymouth

The Soufriere Hills volcano on the Caribbean Island of Montserrat has been erupting since 1995.  The most severe destruction occurred in 1997, when pyroclastic flows devastated large parts of the southern half of the island, including parts of the capital Plymouth to the W and various settlements to the SW, E and NE (including Bramble Airport).  Many areas have also been affected heavy ash fall and by lahars, including the remains of the Capital Plymouth which are gradually being buried in lahar deposits.

Eruptive activity continues, with the volcano presently showing renewed dome growth.

Maps for orientation

Due to volcanic hazards, the south of the island is designated as an exclusion zone.  Unauthorized entry into this zone is illegal (see Fig.2) and is not encouraged by the author of this report.

 (Fig.2)

Garibaldi hill provides a good view of the Volcano and Plymouth (Fig.3).  The path of lahars through the center of town is clearly visible.  Fort Ghaut river which flowed through the town has now been completely filled with deposits.  Lahar activity continues to bury the remains of Plymouth as can be seen from comparable pictures of the town center from 2002 (Fig.4) and 2006 (Fig.5).  See most distant part of town in pictures.

(Fig.3)  (Fig.4) (Fig.5)

The burial of Plymouth is further illustrated by the following pictures of the Plymouth Court Building.  The next picture shows the Court Building and the Methodist Church (Fig.6 (picture from "Holiday Montserrat 1993/94 Brochure)).  The following pictures show the Court Building in 2002 (Fig.7) and in 2006 (Fig.8).

 (Fig.6) (Fig.7) (Fig.8)

The following pictures show the Methodist Church (Fig.9) and the War Memorial Clock Tower (Fig.10) in 2002.  Both have now been completely destroyed by Lahars following the major eruption in 2003.  Fig.11 shows Letts Building (right) and Arrows Manstore in 2006 both of which are partially burried.

(Fig.9)  (Fig.10)(Fig.11)

The dome is presently best observed from the W side of the island.  There is now a purpose built viewpoint on Jack Boy Hill at the edge of the exclusion zone.  Fig.12 shows the older inofficial viewpoint on JBH in use in 2002 with the large dome in the background.  Fig.13 shows the massive dome in Sept. 2002.  The current dome is growing in the crater left by the destruction of the former dome in 2003 (Fig.14).

(Fig.12)  (Fig.13)  (Fig.14)

Due to the small size of the dome, it was possible to visit the old Bramble Airport buildings (Fig.15).  These currently provide a good viewpoint for observing pyroclastic flow activity in the Tar River Valley.  During a two day observation period during unusually poor weather conditions, one PF was observed (Fig. 16 and 17).  This flow occurred on 20.01.06 at approx. 16.45 local time and extended over 1 km from the dome which was not visible due to cloud cover.

(Fig.15)  (Fig.16)  (Fig.17)

18

19  20 21

Silent witnesses of the buried city

Travel Information:

Travellers to Montserrat should be aware that the only regular form of transport to the island are Winair flights from Antigua to the new Gerrards Airport (Situation in 2006).  High winds and heavy rain can lead to closure of the new airport which is located in an exposed position on a hilltop.  This can lead to missed connections in Antigua, as I unfortunately experienced. 

Low cloud is a more usual problem on Montserrat.  Best viewing time is probably March / April.  However, even then a week on the island can easily pass without getting clear views of the dome.

More about at: Photovolcanica.com

 Etna    Stromboli    Volcano world    Counter Cinema

From Etna to Stromboli     Planets & Space

   2006 photos and text by Richard Roscoe, last modification 4.2.2006

Soufriere Hills

Montserrat Tour, Jan 2006 

(mit zusätzlichen Bildern vom Sept. 2002), von Richard Roscoe)

in english


 

1

Bild 1 – R. Roscoe neben den noch freistehenden Resten den Katholischen Kirche, Plymouth

Soufriere Hills, ein Vulkanensemble auf der karibischen Insel Montserrat. Die größte Zerstörung fand im Jahre 1997 statt, als Pyroklastische Ströme  große Teile der südlichen Inselhälfte verwüsteten. Unter Anderem fiel der westliche Teil der Hauptstadt Plymouth sowie Siedlungen im SW, O and NO (incl. Bramble Airport) diesem verheerenden Naturereignis zum Opfer. Viele Gegenden wurden auch einfach durch den starken Aschefall in Mitleidenschaft gezogen. Die noch übrig gebliebenen Ruinen der Hauptstadt wurden schrittweise durch Lahars begraben.

Die eruptive Phase des Vulkans dauert weiter an. Dieses ist an dem stetigen Wachstum und der Erneuerung des Domes zu beobachten. (Bild 13)

Kartenmaterial zur Orientierung

Aufgrund der ständigen Gefahr durch Vulkanausbrüche ist der Süden der Insel für nicht genehmigte Personen eine Verbotszone, wie das Hinweisschild deutlich verrät. Richard Roscoe will auch mit diesem Bericht keinesfalls die Besucher der Insel dazu animieren, dieses Gefahrengebiet zu betreten. (Bild 2).

  2

Auf Garibaldi Hill erhält der Betrachter eine Gute Sicht auf den Vulkan und der Stadt Plymouth (Bild 3). Die abgegangenen Lahars welche die Stadt zum Teil mittig passierten sind deutlich zu erkennen. Auch der Fort Ghaut Fluss wurde komplett mit Lahar-Schutt aufgefüllt. Das fortschreitende Verschwinden des Stadtkerns zeigen anschaulich die Aufnahmen von 2002 (Bild 4) und 2006 (Bild 5) im Vergleich.

4  5

Die Beerdigung der Stadt Plymouth wird weiter durch das Plymouth Court Gebäude veranschaulicht. Bild 6 zeigt die Methodist Kirche (Bild von "Holiday Montserrat 1993/94 Brochure). Die weiteren Photos zeigen das Court Building im Jahre 2002 (Bild 7) und 2006 (Bild 8).

  6 7 8

Weiter werden die Methodist Church (Bild 9) und das War Memorial Clock Tower (Bild 10) im Jahre 2002 gezeigt Beide Gebäude wurden durch Lahars während der Haupteruption im Jahre 2003 komplett zerstört. Bild 11 zeigt das Letts Building (rechts) und Arrows Manstore in 2006. Beide sind teilweise verschüttet.

10 11

Die beste Sicht auf den Dom ist vom Westen der Insel. Auf dem Jack Boy Hill ist am Rand der Sperrzone ein zweckmäßiger Beobachtungspunkt vorzufinden. Bild 12 zeigt den inoffiziellen Beobachtungspunkt 2002 auf JBH mit dem mächtigen Dom im Hintergrund. Photo 13 zeigt den massiven Dom im Sept. 2002. Der augenblickliche Dom wächst unaufhaltsam aus dem zurückgelassenen zerstörten Dom von 2003.(14)

12   13   14

Aufgrund der noch geringen Größe des neuen Domes war es möglich geworden den alten Bramble Airport mit seinen malträtierten Gebäuden zu besuchen.(15). Zur Zeit ist dieser Standpunkt sehr günstig um 'aktive' Pyroklastische Ströme welche förmlich aus dem 'Tar River Valley' schießen zu beobachten.. Während der zwei Tage konnte bei sehr schlechtem Wetter dennoch am 20.01.06 um etwa 16.45 ein Strom beobachtet werden (16 und 17), welcher einen Auslauf von etwa einem Kilometer hatte.

15  16   17

18

19  20 21

Stille Zeugen der damaligen Katastrophe in der verschütteten Stadt

Reise Information:

Reisende auf die Insel Montserrat sollten sich bewusst sein, dass die einzige Möglichkeit die Insel zu erreichen durch einen Flug der Winair von Antigua zum Gerrards Airport (Situation 2006) besteht. Starke Winde und heftiger Regen können dazu führen, das der frei auf einem Hügel gelegene Flughafen oft geschlossen wird. Die Gefahr Anschlussflüge zu verpassen ist somit sehr hoch.

Ein weiteres und bekanntes Problem auf Montserrat ist die tief gelegene Wolkenschicht. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist somit März  und April, jedoch kann auch zu diesem Zeitpunkt eine Woche vergehen ohne das man den Dom gesehen hat.

Weitere Infos bei: Photovolcanica.com

Ätna     Stromboli      Vulkanwelt     Counter Cinema

Vom Ätna zum Stromboli      Planets & Space

©  2006 photos and text by Richard Roscoe, last modification 4.2.2006