Soufriere Hills II

Montserrat tour, March 2006 

Richard Roscoe, Martin Rietze

in deustch

 

Things started badly with the BA plane circling so often over Antigua that we were getting rather dizzy.  Finally, having landed and endured the slothful immigration procedure we managed to run with our luggage and check in to the last Winair flight of the day with 20 minutes to spare.

Maps for orientation

After the short hop to Montserrat in the trusty old DHC-6-300 plane, we quickly exited the airport and grabbed a taxi to go and stock up on water and get some additional food.  Then we drove to the Jack Boy Hill observation point (Fig.1) to be greeted by the glowing dome of Soufriere Hills Volcano with only a small cloud cap sitting on top (Fig.2a, 2b, 2c).  Since weather conditions often  prevent any viewing for lengthy periods, it was a great relief to see so much so soon after arriving.  This was the first view of the volcano for Martin, whereas it was already my third visit to the charming little Island with its ever-changing volcano.

1(rr)   2a (mr) 2b(mr)  2c(rr)

The first night was spent at the viewpoint getting the first nighttime shots of the dome which is still about 5km away from this position.  As morning approached we each shouldered 2 rucksacks, one front, one back, with a combined weight of nearly 40 kg per person, and descended down the winding road towards the deserted Bramble Airport and surrounding settlements.  Crossing old pyroclastic flow deposits and erosion gullies (Fig.3a), we gradually, and in some discomfort due to the heavy load, made our way towards the deserted settlement of Bethel (Fig.3b) in the hope of passing through this overgrown area and progressing towards Long Ground which we hoped would provide a good safeish (although certainly not safe) position for pyroclastic flow observation.

3a (rr)    3b (rr)    4 (rr)    5a (mr) 

Upon reaching what remains of Bethel it became immediately apparent that plan A was going to fail.  The area is densely, and practically impenetrably, vegetated with thorn-bushes and the buildings are in poor condition and full of wasp nests (Fig.4).  The machete hardly could be said to have cut through the thornbushes like butter and consequently progress was painfully slow.  Our hopes that at least the roads would remain in a walkable condition were also soon dashed as short sections of road just disappeared into thorny thickets.  Well, thank God for telephoto lenses (but not for creating thornbushes ;-)..).  We decided to find a position where our view was not obscured by vegetation and then set up camp for the next two nights (Fig.5a, 5b, 5c). 

5c (mr)   5b (rr)

Viewing conditions were difficult and heavy rainfall on one afternoon resulted in a cramped and frustrating spell in the tent.  Nevertheless, at least at night we managed to get some fine views of the dome (Fig.6a, 6b, 6c) and on several occasions PFs were visible entering into the top part of the Tar River Valley (Fig.7a, 7b, 7c).  However PF activity was and remained disappointing since activity had shifted to the Northern part of the dome, distal to Tar River valley, in recent weeks.

6a (mr)    6b (mr)    6c (rr)

7a (mr)     7b (mr)     7c (rr)

On the third day we progressed to a position nearer the coast to get a different view of the dome and in order to position ourselves for a brief visit to the Tar River Valley via the coastal route (Plan B).  The morning provided the best daytime views of the dome (Fig.8a, 8b, 8c, 8d), but low cloud arrived in the afternoon and only part of the dome was visible from this time onwards. 

  8a (mr)

8b (rr)    8c (mr)   8d (rr)  

Nevertheless, in the evening we proceeded along the beach with light backpacks to the small fan of land created by PF deposits at the bottom of the Tar River Valley (Fig.9a, b, c).  It should be repeated at this point that Tar River Valley is very dangerous at any time and progressing to this point and into the valley could be near suicidal if activity was higher or more concentrated in the southern part of the dome.  Nevertheless after having observed the activity for the previous days we decided to cross the Valley, which contains some deep erosion gullies which would make a quick escape impossible, and set ourselves up for a night of photography at a point overlooking the valley. 

9a (rr)    9b (mr)    9c (mr)

After a brief shower and in spite of gusty winds blowing sand around it was possible to take a number of photos of the Tar River Valley with at least the bottom part of the dome visible (see Fig.10a, 10b, 10c, 10d).  Note the small PF cloud on Fig.10c (!). 

      10c (mr) 

   10a (rr)   10b (rr)  10d (mr)

As morning broke, the clouds descended even further but due to the low angle of the sun, the yellow and reddish pastel-coloured landscape presented a wonderful picture (Fig.11a, Fig.11b, 11c).  Deposits from a recent PF could be seen like a light-coloured claw on the valley floor  (Fig.11b).

  11a (mr)  11b (rr)  11c (mr)

After this brief visit we returned to our previous position. Since water was running a little low we went to collect some coconuts.  The foray was successful apart from 5 wasp stings to my arm and numerous thorn-scratches due to rapid flight from the scene of the attack.  This had resulting from trying to pick up a coconut about 1m away from a wasp nest which had previously fallen to the ground.  This was surprising since the wasps generally seemed to be quite tranquil and approachable.  Nevertheless, it had been worth it and thanks to a major effort by Martin with the by now blunt and bent machete, coconut juice and flesh was in plentiful supply.

The final night was uneventful and provided only little photographic opportunity.  One had to settle for a few shots of a house with a boulder perched on its roof (evidence of the tremendous force that can be developed by Lahars) with a little glow in the background (Fig.12).  The climb up Jack Boy Hill was hampered a little by a newborn goat which decided to adopt me as its mother as we passed.  Well i wouldn't have minded adopting the little fellow, yet my inability to lactate would have rapidly become a problem.  Thus, after carrying it to its mother failed, gently prodding it with feet and telescopic sticks until it ran into the bushes at the side of the road did the trick (luckily we saw it several days later reunited with its mother).

  12 (rr)    

After 4 days at the east side of Montserrat, it was decided to briefly visit the deserted capital Plymouth and as the opportunity arose to take a drive up St Georges.  We installed ourselves in the View Pointe Hotel which provides a comfortable and friendly base for exploration of this part of the island.  The drive up St Georges hill can easily be arranged by Taxi (unless the Exclusion Zone is extended to this area again), however costs are high and best shared with further visitors.  Since we visited in the afternoon, the volcano presented itself in bright sunlight (Fig.13a, 13b).   The view from St Georges Hill provides a good impression of the extent of lahar damage on this side of the Island (Fig.14a, Fig.14b).

 13a (rr)  13b (mr)

 14a (rr)  14b (mr)

After a relatively relaxing day involving stocking up again on food and water and the St Georges Hill visit, we walked into Plymouth the next morning.  Due to increasing danger from the volcano, the workmen present in January are no longer entering the town.  After nearly running into what appeared to be a police patrol (this could prove very expensive since fines of approx. 800 USD are apparently levied on unauthorized exclusion zone entrants), we decided to spend much of the day inside buildings looking for photo motifs.  Several interesting motifs were found in the workshop and classrooms of the Montserrat Technical College (Fig. 15a, 15b, 15c, 15d) and in and around local stores (Fig. 16a, 16b, 16c, 16d). 

15b (rr)   15a (mr)   15c (rr)      15d (mr)

16a (mr)   16b (mr) 

16c (rr)   16d (mr)

It is noted that we did not break into any locked buildings (the majority are open anyway), neither were any items removed from the site. In the afternoon we ventured towards the former center of town and had a relatively clear view of the volcano in the background.  The following figures show buildings in the center of Plymouth (Fig.17a, 17b, 17c, 17d).

17a (mr)  17b (rr)  17c (rr)  17d (rr)

After sunset we left town, machete in hand in case of pig attacks, and after a brief walk got a ride on the back of a pickup truck to the Belham River Valley crossing from where we proceeded on foot back to the View Pointe Hotel.  People who choose to enter the exclusion zone should be aware that there have been a number of reported attacks by large (formerly domesticated) pigs.  Forget "Babe", this is big mean marauding bacon.  Rumour indeed has it that a number of people have disappeared in the zone in recent years.  Some claim that the pigs may be responsible, although there is no direct evidence of this.  Nevertheless, it would certainly not be a very glamorous way to go !  Consequently, it seems wise to carry at least a machete to provide some protection.  Certainly, holiday in the exclusion zone at times seems like a holiday in a farmyard, with pigs, cows (incl. large bulls), donkeys and large numbers of goats wandering around (Fig.18).

18 (rr) 

On the penultimate day of our visit we descended again to the vicinity of Bramble Airport in the hope of catching further glimpses of the dome (Fig.19).  Unfortunately the entire dome remained in cloud for the much of this visit and we encountered a rather unpleasant number of biting insects. 

19 (rr) 

The next day we left for the airport somewhat disappointed and after the short flight to Antigua spent a couple of hours in its capital St John before getting onto the BA flight back to London.  Interestingly, the style of many of the buildings in St John is similar to that of many of the buildings that have been lost in Plymouth (Fig.20a, 20b). 

20a (rr)  20b (rr)

The Soufriere Hills Volcano is currently again in a phase of rapid dome growth.  Entry into the exclusion zone is illegal and is not encouraged by the author of this report.  Those entering anyway need to be aware of the dangers from wildlife, building collapse and in particular pyroclastic flows or lahars.  In particular the area around Tar River Valley should be avoided, yet as the dome breaches other parts of the wall formed by remnants of the 2003 dome, further areas will be at very high risk of pyroclastic flows.  All areas around the dome would be at high risk in case of a major dome failure even at the present time.  Visitors should remember that Pyroclastic flows have reached as far as Bramble airport (about 4km from the dome) in previous eruptive episodes.  Recent activity reports can be viewed on the informative Montserrat Volcano Observatory website (www.mvo.ms) .  It is noted that staff at the MVO currently strongly advise against any entry into the exclusion zone.

More about at: Photovolcanica.com

 Etna    Stromboli    Volcano world    Counter Cinema

From Etna to Stromboli     Planets & Space

    2006 photos and text by Richard Roscoe (rr) photos by Martin Rietze (mr), web Boeckel, last modification 14.4.2006

Soufriere Hills II

Montserrat Tour, März 2006 

Martin Rietze, Richard Roscoe

in english

 

Nachdem unsere BA Maschine so lange über Antigua gekreist war, dass einem fast schwindlig wurde, und wir daraufhin die langsame Einwanderungsprozedur überstanden hatten, rannten wir mit unserem Gepäck zum Winair Schalter und konnten gerade noch 20 Minuten vor Abflug der letzten Maschine des Tages nach Montserrat einchecken.

Kartenmaterial zur Orientierung

Nach dem kurzen Flug mit der alten DHC-6-300 Maschine verließen wir den Flughafen auf Montserrat schnell in Richtung eines Supermarktes um unseren Proviant zu vervollständigen.  Danach ließen wir uns zum Jack Boy Hill Observationspunkt (Fig.1) fahren wo wir vom glühenden Soufriere Hills Vulkan erwartet wurden, der nur eine kleine Wolkenkappe hatte (Fig.2a, 2b, 2c).  Da der Vulkan oft über Tage in Wolken steckt war dieser erste Anblick eine riesige Erleichterung.  Es war der erste Blick auf den Vulkan für Martin, während ich schon zum dritten Mal auf dieser charmanten kleinen Insel mit seinem sich immer ändernden Vulkan zu Gast war.

1(rr)   2a (mr) 2b(mr)  2c(rr)

Die Nacht wurde auf dem Aussichtspunkt verbracht um die ersten Bilder von dem 5km entfernten Dom in den Kasten zu kriegen.  In der Morgendämmerung "schwangen" wir je 40 Kilo Gepäck auf die Schultern und begaben uns auf den Weg in die Sperrzone.  Wir überquerten durch Erosion schon leicht zerfurchte Ablagerungen früherer Pyroklastischer Ströme (Fig.3a) und schritten langsam in Richtung der verlassenen und halb zerstörten Siedlung von Bethel (Fig.3b). Dabei war die Hoffnung über die überwachsene Siedlung weiter in Richtung der nächsten Siedlung "Long Ground" vorzurücken, um eine geeignete und einigermaßen sichere Stelle zum beobachten Pyroklastischer Ströme einzunehmen.

3a (rr)    3b (rr)    4 (rr)    5a (mr) 

Als wir die bewachsenen Überreste von Bethel erreichten mussten wir feststellen, dass Plan A nicht umsetzbar sein würde.  Die Gegend ist sehr dicht mit relativ macheteresistenten Dornenbüschen überwachsen, die Häuser in schlechten Zustand und voller Wespennester (Fig.4).  Nach höchstens 100m Wegstrecke die mit der Machete freigeschlagen werden musste, ließen wir uns an einer Stelle zwischen den Büschen nieder wo die Vegetation wenigstens nicht den Blick Richtung Dom versperrte.  Hier haben wir für die nächsten 2 Nächte Lager aufgeschlagen (Fig.5a, 5b, 5c).  Die Sicht auf den Vulkan war leider oft durch Wolken verschleiert und heftiger Regenfall führte zu einem frustrierendem Nachmittag in engen Zelt. 

5b (rr) 5c (mr)   

Trotzdem war es teils möglich eine gute Aussicht auf den Dom zu bekommen (Fig.6a, 6b, 6c) und es konnten einige kurze Pyroklastische Ströme im oberen Tar River Valley beobachtet werden (Fig.7a, 7b, 7c).  Leider war aber die PS Aktivität generell etwas enttäuschend da sich in den letzten Wochen die Domaktivität in den nördlichen Bereich des Doms verschoben hatte.

6a (mr)    6b (mr)    6c (rr)

7a (mr)     7b (mr)     7c (rr)

Am dritten Tag wanderten wir Richtung Küste um einen alternativen Ausblick zu bekommen und um uns in Stellung zu bringen für einen kurzen Besuch des Tar River Valley über die Küstenroute (Plan B).  Am Morgen hatten wir einen relativ klaren Blick auf den Dom (Fig.8a, 8b, 8c, 8d), später zogen aber Wolken ein die uns bis zum Ende dieses Ausflugs begleiten sollten. 

  8a (mr)

8b (rr)    8c (mr)   8d (rr)

Am Abend liefen wir dann an der Küste entlang bis zu den ins Meer herausragenden PS Ablagerungen am Tar River Valley (Fig.9 a, b, c).  Anzumerken ist an dieser Stelle, daß Tar River Valley jederzeit sehr gefährlich ist und bei höherer Aktivität oder Aktivität im südlichen Domsektor ein Besuch fast selbstmörderisch wäre.  Trotzdem entschlossen wir uns nach mehrtägiger Observation der Aktivität, das Tal zu durchqueren und uns am gegenüberliegenden Hang einzunisten. 

9a (rr)    9b (mr)    9c (mr)

Nach Überquerung der tiefen Erosionsfurchen im Tal, welche eine schnelle Flucht verhindern würden, fanden wir eine geeignete Stelle die allerdings dem Regen und herumwehenden Sand ausgesetzt war.  Es sollte also mal wieder eine "bequeme" Nacht werden.  Trotzdem konnten wir Aktivität im unterem Dombereich beobachten (Fig.10a, 10b, 10c, 10d). 

      10c (mr) 

   10a (rr)   10b (rr)  10d (mr)

Sogar ein kleiner Pf war zu erkennen (Fig.10c) (!).  In der Morgendämmerung konnten wir erstmals die gelb-rote pastellfarbene Landschaft richtig bewundern welche maßgeblich durch frühere PS-Ablagerungen gestaltet wurde (Fig.11a, 11b, 11c).  Ablagerungen eines vor kurzem abgegangenen PS waren auf dem Talboden wie eine hellfarbene Klaue zu erkennen (Fig.11b).

  11a (mr)  11b (rr)  11c (mr)

Nach diesem kurzen Besuch kehrten wir an unseren Ausgangspunkt zurück, wo wir einen Teil unseres Gepäcks ziegensicher verstaut hinterlassen hatten.  Da unsere Wasservorräte zu Neige gingen entschlossen wir uns Kokosnüsse zu sammeln. Dies war ein Erfolg, ausser den 5 Stichen und auf der Flucht erlittenen Dornenkratzer die ich mir bei einem Wespenangriff zuzog..  Dieser war wohl durch das Aufheben einer Kokosnuss 1m von einem zu Boden gefallenen Wespennest erfolgt.  Der Angriff war überraschend, da sich die Wespen generell als sehr ruhig und annäherbar erwiesen hatten. 

Dank Martins Einsatz mit der mittlerweile stumpfen und verbogenen Machete konnten wir Kokusfleisch und Saft im Überfluss genießen

Die letzte Nacht war wolkig und es ergaben sich kaum Gelegenheiten zum Fotografieren.  Trotzdem gelang dieses Bild von einem Haus mit einem Felsen auf dem Dach, welcher die Kraft der Lahars deutlich aufzeigt (Fig.12).   Der anschließende Aufstieg zum Jack Boy Hill wurde kurz unterbrochen durch eine wohl in der Nacht geborenen Ziege die mich als seine Mutter adoptieren wollte.  Ich hätte den niedlichen kleinen Kerl auch gerne mitgenommen aber da ich nicht gerade der Weltmeister im Laktieren bin wäre dies sicherlich bald ein Problem geworden.  Nachdem ich die Ziege zu seiner Mutter getragen hatte und es trotzdem zu mir zurückkehrte mußte es mit leichten Tritten und stochern mit den Wanderstöcken entmutigt werden.  Letztendlich verschwand es in den Büschen neben der Strasse.  Das Junge sahen wir dann Tage später glücklich mit seiner Mutter vereint.

  12 (rr)    

Nach 4 Tagen auf der Ostseite Montserrats beschlossen wir uns die verlassene Hauptstadt Plymouth anzusehen, und da sich die Möglichkeit ergab auch eine Fahrt auf St. Georges Hill zu unternehmen.  Wir ließen uns im View Pointe Hotel nieder, welches eine komfortable und freundliche Basis für die Erkundung dieser Seite der Insel bietet.  Die Fahrt auf St. Georges Hill kann leicht per Taxi unternommen werden (außer wenn die Sperrzone wieder ausgedehnt wird), allerdings sind die Kosten relativ hoch und werden besser mit weiteren Fahrgästen geteilt.  Da wir erst am Nachmittag hochfuhren, präsentierte sich der Vulkan im hellen Sonnenschein (Fig.13a, 13b).  St. Georges Hill bietet einen guten Aussichtspunkt auf die Laharschäden im Westen Montserrats (Fig.14a, 14b).

 13a (rr)  13b (mr)

 14a (rr)  14b (mr)

Nach einem ansonsten relativ entspannenden Tag an dem wir Lebensmittel und Wasser für die nächsten Tage besorgten, wanderten wir früh am nächsten Morgen nach Plymouth.  Da sich die vom Vulkan ausgehende Gefahr erhöht hat, betreten nun die im Januar noch anwesenden Arbeiter nicht mehr die Stadt.  Nachdem wir fast einer Polizeikontrolle in die Arme gelaufen waren (dies kann sehr teuer werden, da angeblich unauthorisiertes Betreten der Sperrzone eine Geldstrafe von um die 800 USD kosten kann), hielten wir uns erstmal in Gebäuden auf und suchten dabei interessante Fotomotive.  Einige hiervon konnten im Montserrat Technical College (Fig.15a, 15b, 15c, 15d) und in und um verschiedene Läden (Fig.16a, 16b, 16c, 16d) entdeckt werden. 

15b (rr)   15a (mr)   15c (rr)      15d (mr)

16a (mr)   16b (mr) 

16c (rr)   16d (mr)

Es sollte erwähnt werden, dass wir in keine Gebäude eingebrochen sind (die meisten sind sowieso schon offen), und auch daß wir keine Gegenstände entfernten.  Am Nachmittag näherten wir uns dann vorsichtig dem Stadtzentrum und hatten dabei die Möglichkeit den Vulkan bei nur geringer Bewölkung im Hintergrund zu betrachten.  Die folgenden Bilder zeigen Gebäude im Zentrum von Plymouth (Fig.17a, 17b, 17c, 17d).

17a (mr)  17b (rr)  17c (rr)  17d (rr)

Nach Sonnenuntergang verließen wir die Stadt, Machete in der Hand falls wir Schweinen über den Weg laufen sollten, und konnten nach kurzer Wanderung eine Mitfahrgelegenheit nach Belham Valley auf einem Pickup nutzen.  Von dort wanderten wir zurück zum Hotel.  Wer in die Sperrzone eindringt sollte wissen daß von mehreren Angriffen auf Menschen durch verwilderte Schweine berichtet worden ist.  Es gibt auch Gerüchte daß mehrere Menschen in den letzten Jahren in der Sperrzone verschwunden sind.  Es wird von Einigen behauptet daß die Schweine dafür verantwortlich sind, allerdings gibt es hierfür keinen direkten Beweis.  Trotzdem scheint es sinnvoll eine Machete mitzunehmen um wenigstens etwas Schutz zu haben.  Auf jeden Fall ist Urlaub in der Sperrzone in gewisser Weise vergleichbar mit einem Urlaub auf dem Bauernhof, da Schweine, Kühe (Stiere !), Esel und viele Ziegen dort anzutreffen sind (Fig.18).

18 (rr) 

Am vorletzten Tag unseres Besuches ließen wir uns wieder zur Beobachtung in der Nähe von Bramble Airport nieder (Fig.19).  Leider blieb der Dom aber diesmal in Wolken und es wurde Bekanntschaft mit einigen beißenden und stechenden Insekten gemacht. 

19 (rr) 

Am nächsten Tag verließen wir etwas enttäuscht unseren Beobachtungspunkt und brachen Richtung Flughafen auf.  Nach dem kurzen Flug nach Antigua verbrachten wir einige Stunden in der Hauptstadt St John bevor wir unseren BA Flug nach London nahmen.  Es ist interessant, dass der Stil vieler Gebäude in dieser Stadt dem von vielen der verschütteten Gebäude in der Altstadt von Plymouth ähnelt (Fig.20a, 20b).

20a (rr)  20b (rr)

Der Soufriere Hills Vulkan ist momentan wieder in einer Phase des rapiden Domwachstums.  Das Betreten der Sperrzone ist illegal und wird nicht vom Autor dieses Berichtes ermutigt.  Wer trotzdem die Sperrzone betreten möchte muß mit Gefahren durch Tiere, Gebäudekollaps, Lahars und Pyroklastischen Strömen rechnen.  Insbesondere sollte die Gegend um das Tar River Valley gemieden werden.

Sobald der Dom andere Teile des Schutzwalls, welcher durch die Überreste des Doms von 2003 entstanden ist überwächst, werden weitere Bereiche einem sehr hohem Risiko durch Pyroklastische Ströme ausgesetzt sein.  Alle Bereiche um den Dom herum sind natürlich bei einem massivem Zusammenbruch des Doms stark gefährdet.  Besucher sollten v.a. nicht vergessen daß sogar Bramble Airport (4km vom Dom) in der Vergangenheit schon mal von einem PS erreicht wurde.  Aktuelle Aktivitätsberichte befinden sich auf der informativen Webseite des Montserrat Volcano Observatory (www.mvo.ms).  Es ist zu erwähnen, dass die MVO Mitarbeiter sehr deutlich vor einem Besuch des Sperrgebietes warnen.

Weitere Infos bei: Photovolcanica.com

Ätna     Stromboli      Vulkanwelt     Counter Cinema

Vom Ätna zum Stromboli      Planets & Space

©   2006 photos and text Richard Roscoe (rr)   photos Martin Rietze (mr), Web Boeckel, last modification 14.4.2006